Risk Management

Mergers & Acquisitions
TRANSACTION-RELATED SERVICES

From risk identification to risk transfer during corporate acquisitions and sales, we assist you in all insurance matters during the M&A process – whether you are a buyer or a vendor.

Kessler offers a comprehensive range of services covering all aspects of insurance, such as corporate and personal insurance and pension funds. Particularly with regard to the M&A process, these range from preparing the transaction (providing information and vendor insurance due diligence) and assessing the target company (insurance due diligence) to transferring sales and purchase contract risks (M&A transactional risk insurance, known as Warranty & Indemnity Insurance or Reps & Warranties Insurance) and overseeing integration or resale.

TRANSACTION PREPARATION

In preparation for the scheduled transaction, we compile all relevant insurance data on the sell side in a form that allows you to store and organize it simply, logically and completely in the data room. Besides ensuring that the prospective buyer can find and analyze the data without further ado, this also helps minimize inquiries. Our vendor due diligence report can greatly facilitate the sale of a company, or part of a company.

INSURANCE DUE DILIGENCE

We help you analyze the target company’s current insurance coverage and compile a due diligence report based on the potential integration of the target company into a new group, or on a stand-alone solution.

M&A TRANSACTIONAL RISK INSURANCE

Vendor liability in an M&A transaction is one of the most fundamental issues when negotiating the share and purchase agreement. Transactional risk insurance allows the parties to extend or minimize the liability offered by the vendor while securing the liability reserves to the desired extent of the buyer within the scope of an insurance contract. Whether a buyer or a vendor, transactional risk insurance offers a practical alternative to purchase contract liability and conventional hedging methods such as an escrow account, bank guarantee or similar hedging instruments. If the policyholder is the buyer, any losses suffered from a breach of the sale and purchase agreement or warranty provisions contained therein can be claimed directly from the insurance company. Therefore the vendor must not be held liable. If the policy is concluded by the vendor, support will be given in defending unjustified claims (including the assumption of legal defense costs), and in the form of compensation for justified claims.

KNOWN RISKS

M&A transactions tend to involve known individual risks that can be specifically covered by an insurance solution:

  • Tax liability: insurance for the non-occurrence of anticipated tax effects during transactions;
  • Litigation buyout / litigation caps: transfer or limitation of liability in the case of pending or imminent legal disputes;
  • Environmental liability: insurance for unknown environmental risks or insufficient risk assessment.

Our team of M&A experts works in close collaboration with our Network Partner Marsh, which has a global network of over 200 experts in this field and assists with hundreds of M&A transactions each year. This allows us to carry out cross-border transactions in virtually all jurisdictions around the world, and provide expert and timely assistance.


Contact

Are you interested in a collaboration or do you have questions? Your contact persons look forward to hearing from you.

Timo Salvisberg
Head Private Equity and M&A Practice

Back to top
Marsh Network

Risk Management

Mergers & Acquisitions
Transaktionsdienstleistungen

Von der Risikoerkennung zum Risikotransfer beim Unternehmenskauf und -verkauf – wir unterstützen Sie in sämtlichen Versicherungsbelangen im M&A-Prozess, unabhängig davon, ob Sie als Käufer oder Verkäufer agieren.

Kessler bietet Ihnen Dienstleistungen für sämtliche Versicherungsbelange wie betriebliche Versicherungen, Personenversicherungen und Pensionskasse. Insbesondere im M&A-Prozess reichen sie von der Vorbereitung der Transaktion (Informationsbereitstellung und Vendor-Due-Diligence) über die eigentliche Prüfung des Zielunternehmens (Insurance-Due-Diligence) zum Transfer von Risiken aus dem Unternehmenskaufvertrag (M&A-Transaktionsversicherung) bis hin zur Begleitung bei der Integration oder bei einem Wiederverkauf.

Vorbereitung der Transaktion

Wir bereiten im Vorfeld der geplanten Transaktion verkäuferseitig die versicherungsrelevanten Daten in einer Form auf, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, sie im Datenraum einfach, logisch geordnet und vollständig abzulegen. So findet der Kaufinteressent die Daten ohne weiteres und kann sie analysieren. Auf diese Weise können Nachfragen weitestgehend vermieden werden. Unser Bericht im Rahmen einer Vendor-Due-Diligence kann den Verkauf eines Unternehmens oder eines Unternehmensteils massgeblich erleichtern.

Insurance Due Diligence

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Analyse der bestehenden Versicherungsdeckungen eines Zielunternehmens und erarbeiten, unter Berücksichtigung einer möglichen Integration des Zielunternehmens in eine neue Gruppe oder bei einer autonomen Lösung, einen Due-Diligence-Bericht.

M&A-Transaktionsversicherung

Die Haftung des Verkäufers bei einer M&A-Transaktion ist ein Hauptpunkt in Vertragsverhandlungen. Die Transaktionsversicherung ermöglicht es den Parteien, die angebotene Haftungssumme des Verkäufers zu ergänzen oder auf ein Minimum zu beschränken und dem Käufer gleichzeitig Haftungssubstrat im von ihm gewünschten Masse im Rahmen eines Versicherungsvertrags sicherzustellen. Unabhängig davon, ob Sie sich auf Käufer- oder Verkäuferseite befinden, bietet die Transaktionsversicherung einen sinnvollen Ersatz für die vertragliche Haftung aus dem Unternehmenskaufvertrag sowie eine Alternative zu den herkömmlichen Sicherungsmethoden wie beispielsweise Escrow-Konto, Bankgarantie oder ähnliche Sicherungsinstrumente. Tritt der Käufer als Versicherungsnehmer auf, kann er bei Verletzung des Kaufvertrags oder dessen Gewährleistungsbestimmungen einen daraus entstehenden Vermögensverlust direkt vom Versicherer verlangen. Den Verkäufer muss er somit nicht belangen. Wird die Police vom Verkäufer abgeschlossen, erhält er Unterstützung bei der Abwehr von ungerechtfertigten Forderungen (inklusive Übernahme der Abwehrkosten) sowie Ersatz für gerechtfertigte Forderungen.

Bekannte Risiken

Im Rahmen von Transaktionen kristallisieren sich immer wieder einzelne bekannte Risiken heraus, die gezielt Inhalt einer Versicherungslösung sein können:

  • Steuern (Tax Liability): Versicherung bei Nichteintritt von erwarteten Steuereffekten bei Transaktionen;
  • Klagen / Prozesse (Litigation Buyout / Litigation Caps): Übertragung oder Begrenzung der Haftung bei schwebenden oder drohenden Rechtsstreitigkeiten;
  • Umwelt (Environmental Liability): Versicherung bei unbekannten Umweltrisiken oder ungenügender Bewertung bekannter Risiken.

Unser Team von M&A-Spezialisten arbeitet eng mit unserem Netzwerkpartner Marsh zusammen, der weltweit über ein Netz von über 200 Spezialisten in diesem Bereich verfügt und mehrere hundert Transaktionen im Jahr begleitet. Somit können grenzüberschreitende Transaktionen in praktisch allen Rechtsordnungen weltweit durchgeführt und fachkundig sowie ohne zeitliche Verzögerung begleitet werden.


Kontakt

Sie interessieren sich für eine Zusammenarbeit oder haben Fragen? Ihre Ansprechpartner freuen sich auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

Timo Salvisberg
Leiter Private Equity and M&A Practice

Zum Seitenanfang
Marsh Network